How to know if the defensive problems is your formation or the players?

This may be a very obvious thing but I am quite new to creating my own tactics and instructions instead of using pre-made ones. It's really rewarding but also frustrating. I've created a formation and tactic that I like, it creates alot of clear cuts chances and almost double the half chances every time, the only issue is the defence. I've tried many different things, I used to play a high line with a lot of pressing but i was getting exploited so much that I stopped. So i reverted to a structured mentality with much less closing down and a deeper line. But still for some reason I still concede and my center backs cannot defend crosses, they just can't.

So my question is how do you know if the issue is your tactics or if your players are the problem. 

I've attached my formation and instructions. It may be very flawed. Any help would be great.

Formation.png

Tactics.png

I think maybe you need to understand exactly how the goals are being conceded so you can identify the problem. Replay the goals against from when the opposition start their attack and keep stopping the action and look at player positions. See if you can identify where the problems are as the attack builds as there could be any number of reasons.

Are tackles being missed, have they found it too easy to exploit the space behind the WB's, are the wide men finding it too easy to deliver a cross, are the WB's too slow to react and not cutting out the crosses in time, what is preventing the DC's from clearing the cross when it comes in. 

By closely watching these details in the build up to goals you should see a pattern emerging as to what the fault is and how you can deal with it.