Searching for the wisdom of the Braintree

BuryBlade

This is my first time of writing about the game/series which has consumed so many days (and nights) of my life so far. Having started playing CM2 at 7 years old, I was hooked and must have played thousands of hours on that version alone, as I was still playing it when I was 21! I bought all the Championship Manager games that followed but growing up without internet meant I was oblivious to the split and the creation of Football Manager. That was until a discussion at college where my friends told me that Football Manager was the one to be playing now so on the way home I bought FM08. Thanks to those friends, I have spent over 1000 hours on pretty much every version since then. 

Where does Braintree fit into this, especially as a Sheffield United fan? Well, I fancied starting at the bottom in England and working my way up and my way of picking my team was to choose the best name. Braintree fitted the bill on FM08 and I started with them. I learnt as much as I could about them from Google and began my save game. Many hours later, I had successfully taken Braintree Town from the Conference South to the Premiership, narrowly missing out on the title (finished second to Arsenal) just as the next iteration of FM was released and that save game was lost to the archives of time. I did, in typical Football Manager obsessed fashion, write to the club and got myself the home and away shirts (I think they thought I was crazy!)