Amateur clubs tips

I've played as a lower league manager for years, but this is my first time managing a fully amateur club. Any tips guys?

I find my players don't train enough to be match fit, and they never become familiar with my tactics.

Signing muppets who are slightly better than my inherited muppets is easy, but if anyone shows the slightest promise they get poached for thirty squid a week within a fortnight. Hence there's a constant turnover of players.

This is absolutely NOT a complaint; I love the frustrating realism of the thing. I'm just asking for any ideas for getting the best out of a potless amateur club :)

(nb I'm managing at level 14 of an edited file)

I have no idea what the other reply is, but here's my two cents:

- Look for the best muppets you can get. And physical stats are key. A pacey striker with a hint of finishing can score loads in amateur leagues. For some versions ago I played in a very low English league and had a rather quick striker with horrible finishing. Even though his shots could go anywhere, he still scored more than one a game, just because he had the pace to out run everyone else.

- If someone tries to poach your players, attempt to give the players a new amateur contract. Surprisingly often they will accept.

- Accept that you will lose your best players. They will leave as soon as someone slightly more reputable comes along (and sometimes they leave to worse teams), and there's not much you can do about it.

- Keep the tactics simple. No "Raumdeuters" or "Complete Strikers" at this level. "Central midfield" they understand while "Roaming playmaker" is not something that will help out. Of course, you might be a tactical genius and get it to work, but in general I've had more luck with simple tactics.

I'm guessing much more can be said, but that's my impression of managing amateur teams.