Real Life Football Management

I am a teacher in Turkey and I have been asked to manage the football team of my high school. I have seen some students playing and it looks like my main problem is their 'stamina'. I mean they have always played in smaller pitches. Now they are grown up but when they sprint 90-100 metres, they are all finished up n struggling to breathe.

So I am thinking of doing some aerobic and strength training to improve their stamina n fitness. Could you please advise me some drills for that kind of training? We have 35 days until the tournament starts. Any help or links are appreciated.

I run 400m and 800m for my local athletics club. I would recommend interval training and fartlek training mainly because football requires you to alternate between running at pace and jogging lightly, so research interval training and fartlek training. An example of this would be sprinting 200m then jogging 200m alternately for 2km.

I reckon that normal aerobic training would also help, so sessions such as 5x800m with 6 minutes rest between each 800m rep. Shuttle runs should also help because you're often required to perform turns at pace in football.

Fartlek running is the way forward but 35 days isn't really long enough for a full training cycle (most personal trainers will use a six-week cycle) and you might not see huge results anyway. My advice is fitness training but also try to work on a style of football that requires less fitness. Think about it in terms of FM tactics: you'll probably want to think about closing down less, retaining possession, working the ball into the box etc; basically a style that relies less on chasing around all over the place and more on letting the ball do the work.

Thank guys. Both make sense and I will research more about these.