Stories Of A Mediocre Manager

Burgess Basso

Hey members of Career Updates Forum, I was a “poster” in the FM Stories Forum but I’m not the most patient guy around when it comes to writing. I’m more of the type who just likes to put the basics. I’m not the one to muck around with tactics and go for the best players around, I like to play FM my way and that’s the way it’s going to stay I’ve decided to do this as the forum is best matched to my sort of writing, I’m a new writer in this forum so any advice/tips/constructive criticism would be well appreciated, thanks :)

I play Football Manager 2008 on a pretty run of the mill computer. It’s the original version with no updates etc. I am going to run-

-England (Blue Square N/S)

-Scotland (Division 3)

I’m not the best at uploading pictures and stuff so most of it will be writing and I will post screenshots (hopefully eventually) and when needed. I start in the 2007 season (wow that seems ages ago!). My status is the lowest you can get, I’m not expecting amazing results and cup wins and no really long term goals for the minute, but pure mediocrity!

I’m currently on holiday until a job pops up and I shall write from there with match updates and table positions and if anybody else wants to know information I will do my best to find it.

Here it goes..

On the 25th Of February I was confirmed the new manager of Cambirdge City Football Club they play in the Blue Square South and they are positioned 15th with NO transfer budget and a little wage budget of 3.8k p/w. The finances are looking pretty tight so hopefully I can make the club a bit of money. The facilities are what you expect from a run of the mill Conference side really, nothing special but they’ll do.

The team isn’t in bad shape and I will look to bring in some players of my own in the coming weeks most likely loans and free transfers. My goal for the rest of the season is simple- Stay up.