How to Improve player ability stars?

I'm not a FM newbie, and pay attention to training schedules and coach team. However, I notice that most of my players never reach their full ability potential (number of stars). Sometimes it increases (or drops) half-star, and rarely a full star.

Please any tips on how to make my players increase their ability (number of stars)? Many thanks.

How old are the players? If they're young, they generally need first team football in order to achieve their potential (in terms of stars). Most youths probably won't get a look in with the first team until they hit 20. Top clubs can bypass this by playing them in useless competitions including the League Cup against lower league teams. Lower league teams can bypass this by playing them in games you have no chance of winning though.

So if you want players to reach their potential, it's best to play them regularly in the U18's, loan them out as soon as is feastible to clubs that will use them as a first team player (usually as soon as they're 17-18) and then start bringing them into your first team until they're 23. If they haven't maxed out at 23 or have but aren't good enough, off load them. You have to decide whether they're good enough to play in your first team at 16/17 or wait until they're older but leaving them out will leave them languishing basically.

Another point to note is that the stars on report cards can and will drop depending on the rest of your team. For example if you have a young team or an over-achieving team then the players who are part of that team will be rated considerably higher than they were before (whether they deserve to be or not) and those who aren't playing will find their ratings drop considerably according to the staff members. If THAT happens its up to you to decide if the ratings are over-estimating some of your first team players or not (which, they generally are).