4-3-3 Help Please

Hello, I'm looking for some help with a lower league 4-3-3- please.  About a decade in I've taken over Dover, who have just been relegated to the National South.  My best eleven fell naturally into a 4-3-3 so I've taken the risk of changing from my usual 4-4-2 to try a formation I've never used before and I'm floundering a bit.  I've just played my first season with the side and finished seventh; a little below the media prediction of 4th, but enough to satisfy the board who only asked for a play-off place.  

So, the season hasn't been a failure but I do think I should have got more from the team, but I can't work out what.  I've achieved my aim of creating a patient possession based tactic, but it's too blunt in attack.  My defence was among the division's best despite being susceptible to counter attacks, but the goals for column is mid table despite dominating possession, so is there anything I can do with this tactic to give it a bit more bite while maintaining a decent defence?.  Setup:

DLF(Su)

IF(a)                           W(s)

BWM(s)      CM(a)

HB(d)

Wb(s) CD(d) CD(d) FB(s)

GK(d)

The only PI is for the CM(a) to take more risks because he's creative.  I originally had him as an AP(a) but on balance I needed him in the box more.

The BWM becomes a BBM against weaker sides.

Mentality: Balanced

In Possession: Shorter passing

In transition:   Distribute to full backs/Counter Press

Out of Possession:  Higher DL/Higher LoE/More urgent pressing.

2 hours ago, ThunderCelt said:

I've achieved my aim of creating a patient possession based tactic, but it's too blunt in attack

2 hours ago, ThunderCelt said:

is there anything I can do with this tactic to give it a bit more bite while maintaining a decent defence?

Is the patient possession approach still a must or can be changed into something more progressive?

9 hours ago, Experienced Defender said: