Tactical Familiarity for players that can play multiple positions

Apologies for the basic questions, but I am relatively new to FM (one of those sucked in by the free Epic offer)

When you have players accomplished and with traits for a variety of positions in your tactic, is it possible for them to become fluid in multiple positions or must I choose one and then live with a lack of familiarity when playing them in different positions.  If the latter, is the lack of familiarity a sufficient enough penalty that it is better to play a slightly worse player with fluidity than a slightly better player without?  What is the best way to handle a squad in which you have several players that can play multiple attacking midfielder/striker/midfielder roles?

6 hours ago, Experienced Defender said:

I think there are training sessions that help to increase role familiarity. And if I remember correctly, these should be under the match preparation section. But take this with a pinch of salt, because it's not my "area of expertise". 

I thought the whole thing was that there is no "Role Familiarity" only Positional. That's what people like @Rashidi, Foxinthebox and Zealand have been putting a lot of emphasis on for a while now.

The sessions that include "Individual roles" notice it is NOT under Tactical Familiarity it is under Attributes. This the only time i believe players will train the specific attributes for that role, not increasing Familiarity. You did say its not your area of expertise.

I don't think you can be fluid in multiple positions, especially if they need to keep playing a position to become familiar.

I believe a better player attribute wise is more important, if you are comparing a Fluid vs Accomplished player. You can choose the player better in that role.

If you are comparing a Fluid player and someone competent or worse. You may want to use the Fluid player.