Developing Metodo Leccese

Hello everybody. My nickname is Tsuru, I am a brazilian fan of Football Manager (I believe I like the game more than real football itself), and I´d like to share the development of my current tactical system, called Metodo Leccese. As it is still being developed, I´ll divide this topic into small chapters which will also talk about the team´s progression and results regarding the tactical aspect.

The first thing to notice is that I still play FM 17 due to a lack of funds, so I don´t have the defensive shape and the new roles present in recent versions.

The second important think is the kind of manager which I used to be. Do you know the one who changes all the roles and mentalities during the match and gives the team many instructions without logic because the team is playing bad? That was me. And I am still learning and trying to improve.

So let´s start the first chapter.

1: Every crisis is an opportunity

After winning Serie C Girone C´s title with Lecce in Italy, we stuck in Serie B for three seasons. After a first consolidation one, the script was the same on the other two: Lecce used to start very well, but normally before winter´s pause, we started to lose, I changed the formation and tactics, the results were worse and we fell on the table, losing the chance of going directly to Serie A. And in the playoffs we lost to Verona and Carpi.

We were in the fourth season and going the same way. The team was playing very well on a 4-3-1-2, however I believe this formation is a bit extreme. We needed something more solid and reliable, not just something the manager likes.