I've been playing fm for a few years now but on my tactics, I've never done them 'properly', instead I seem to set the standard tactic at the start of the season and play like that for most matches. When I'm loosing I stick more people upfront and when im protecting a lead, I put more in defence. However I'm trying to improve my tactical awareness in fm, ive read http://www.guidetofootballmanager.com/ and i've found out that you have to adapt your play depending on your opponent, the weather and the size of the pitch.

However when I do this and change players around to account for the opposition (eg move CM to DM to mark opponents' AMC) the new 'familiarity' goes down. Which results in a worse performance by the team.

I've been playing a 442 with Charlton and I've just lost to the team bottom of the league at home, while they were all at 70% fitness. I should have easily won the game, but due to me changing my tactics to account for the opponent, I lost.

What I dont understand is how can players gain familiarity to tactics when you have to change them for each opponent?

I'd like to play a short passing and possession style of football but according to 'guide to football manager.com' I should play more direct against teams I should win against.

My preferred tactics are:

Short passing

Run with ball rarely for all, so they just knock it around and tire the opposition and play possession.

Rare long shots*

Short Corners*

slow tempo

high tackling

*both of these as I feel that they just blase the ball over the bar or give it straight to the keeper from the corner

However why i like to play like this, the assistant keeps saying, lets play longer or we arent shooting enough, which means I have to play more direct and have long shots which means I waste possession as the caliber of Charlton's players cant do this effectively.