The weaknesses of each formations...

I'm not good at writing long stuff but this thread is just to discuss the weaknesses of each formation and maybe the ways to counter them...my default formation is a 4-4-2, which I think is most balance is terms of attacking and defending...

For eg, a 4-1-2-1-2/4-4-2 diamond narrow, the weakness would be flanks as this formation is without wingers. So to counter them, you would probably want your team to attack the flanks and pin their fullbacks/wingbacks back.

2 other formations I feel that are weak at the flanks are the 4-4-2(2 dms and 2 side midfielders) and 4-2-3-1(2 cms and 3 amc).

I would like to hear if people have ways to counter formations like 4-3-3(1 dm, 2 cm, 2 wingers and 1 striker) or the 4-2-3-1(2 cms, 1 amc, 1 aml, 1 amr)...these are the formations that I have problems with.

the 4-1-2-2-1 (DM CM CM AMR AML ST) is used by Barcelona and its deadly when used correctly, it has a strong defence and a lightning quick attack

however I managed to defeat this tactic using home 4-4-1-1 system and 4-1-3-2 away, your defence must push-up and you must play narrow

it was very frustrating to find a system to defeat this tactic especially when Barcelona has Ibrahimovic as ST, Messi, Ribery, Ozil in my game as wingers

the 4-2-3-1 (CM CM AMR AMC AML ST) was used previously by Barcelona in older FMs, I suppose a 4-1-3-2 should work too because this is the advanced version of the previous system, DM position moved to AM

Well the easiest way is to mirror the formation, then its all down to player ability. I myself have problems with highly central formations like 4 2 3 1 or the 41212 diamond. Posting to keep this thread alive and after reading the TT&F10 about the bolton portsmouth game, I'm wondering if someone can do an a more detailed guide about 'creating' and extra man. I'm playing the game in Spain and it seems every game brings a new formation to me!