[FM11] Spezia - the supreme underdogs

cemendur88

spezialogo.png

spezia.png

Spezia Calcio 1906 is an Italian football club. The current incarnation of the club has only existed since 2008 as the old club was declared bankrupt in that year. Spezia Calcio 2008 was formed and the next year bought the rights to the old club and adopted their current name.

In FM2011 they start in Serie C1/A. I have been playing this career game for a few years so they are now in Serie A.

The game is being played with no real players.

--------

The rise of Spezia under my management has been fast, probably too fast. Predicted mid-table first season, we won promotion and the Serie C cup. Tipped to go straight back down, we went on a blistering run of form and amazingly finished 2nd instead of the 22nd that was predicted. It has been a fantastic run of success, but it is likely to all come crashing down. We are now in Serie A, against the big boys. And we are very much the underdogs.

Financially we are stable, but I am incredibly limited in transfer money and wages. My transfer budget for this season was 325k, my wage budget 80k a week. A drop in the pond compared to all the other teams in the league.

This means I have to keep the core of lasts year team, and I add to it with free transfers. Predicted to finish last, and 5000-1 odds of winning the league, I am doing something a bit different. If I am going to go down this year, I'm going to go down in style.

The Tactic

Clicky

I am doing a sort-of Barca. Deep lying forward, wide inside forwards, creativity in the middle, and solid defensively. Will be looking to have a decent amount of permission. A big ask, but I think it may surprise other teams as they will be under-estimating me.

Lets have a look at who I have to play this tactic.

Goalkeepers

Jose Luis Torres

Signed on a free transfer in the summer. One of the first names on the team sheet. Good quality goalkeeper.

Paolo Rota