how do I get youngsters

I am new to the game (and football) and am wondering how the team obtains new youngsters. Is there a draft each season? Do new players from the teams area just sign up? how does it work? I am quite a ways off from finishing my first season, but was curious.

In most countries, you'll get a message at the season reset date tellling you you have five or six new youngsters. It gives you their names which you can click on and see their profile, and your assistant will tell you who is the best of the lot. You'll find them in your under 18 squad (or under 21 depending on where you are managing). Don't forget to put them on training schedules and FYI, you will get this message on the 19th July in England. The quality of the players depends on the quality of your youth facilities.

It represents players either coming through a youth academy or simply local players joining the team, but that isn't actually shown in the game.

In America, there is a draft system where you pick youngsters fresh from High School, but you don't need to know that unless you're managing in the MLS.

You will get a message saying new players have been added to your youth team in mid-June. It is automatic and you have no control over who they are or how good they are, although larger clubs that have a youth academy will get better youngsters.

You'll also find it useful to purchase or sign youth players that your scouts recommend, especially if they have four or more stars for "Potential" or if the Scout report says "Could go on to be a leading {your league here} player." Mix these guys in with the players from your youth academy for the best long-term success.