How exactly can staff become better?

Hi everyone,

I've been scouring the net in search for answers. Basically it comes down to this: I am wondering if staff can become top coaches over the years? I don't just mean an increase in reputation, but a visual change like rising attributes, similar to players? I think I saw one of my ex-player-turned-coach's attributes change, but I am not sure what his stats were when I offered him a staff function upon retirement, so I can't really say for sure in what areas he improved.

I love playing long carreers and rewarding long time players with a future staff function when they're nearing the end of their playing carreers. Yeah I know, I'm one of those folks who gets attached to his aging stars, haha. Example: a defender sets his retirement and wants to have a job as a coach, I then usually offer them youth coach positions. Now if their attributes can indeed change due to staff CA/PA, do I have to let them do general training (i.e. all fields), or should I let them focus on specific fields of training to see them get better?

I haven't been able to find anything definitive online during my wide array of google and FM fora searches. Can anyone with any know-how shed light on how this might works? It would be awesome if I can enlist my club's legends, icons and favoured personnel knowing they can become the club's future top staff instead of having to attract new coaches and other staff every now and then :)

Much appreciated! :D

I have wondered the same of late, what increases attributes in coaches.

I am of the mind that age plays a part and also how competent they are in the role.

So using Keown as an example

screenshot20110312at112.png

I think his age is still young enough to have an increase in attributes, though my thinking is by the time he hits fifty, what it is, is what it is.