[FM17] The Romanian Resurgence

ExiledKopite

Welcome to my second attempt at a Football Manager career thread - the first being usurped by the great evil that is 'life outside FM'.

My normal attitude to FM is to do a fairly ruthless journeyman save - rising up in reputation at every possible opportunity until I stand at the top. My point is, long term one-club saves are an area I have very little experience in, and have decided that with the new game, I want to try for a different approach to the game.

So, why Romania? The simple answer is two-fold - Gheorghe Hagi, and FIFA World Cup for N64. Romania were my go-to team, and I have a very peculiar retrospective affection for their national side, particularly during that 90s golden era. The goal for me, therefore is firstly to rise to the top of the Romanian game, and secondly to bring that club to the top of the continental game. In other words, I want to win the Champions League with a Romanian Liga III team - producing a good amount of Romanian talent along the way, with any luck.

No worries then, easily done!

The Club:

SC Bacău (2010) logo.png

SC Bacău

SC Bacău is a Romanian football club based in Bacău, founded in 2010 and currently playing in the Liga III. Bacău is an interesting club, in that it was started by a group of friends - football and golf enthusiasts - and has had a rapid 5-year rise to the higher realms of Romanian football. Flying up the leagues with practically successive promotions, they were promoted to Liga II in the 2015/16 season and managed a 6th place finish, only to be subsequently relegated due to financial difficulties. They have mostly cleared up their financial issues - according to FM at least, and are now looking to continue their rise to the top with an entirely unknown and unproven English manager at the helm.

If anybody here has any knowledge of Romanian football, and wants to expand or correct any of that, by all means post away. It seems to be a pretty fascinating club.