Fluctuating Cap

It would be interesting if the salary cap in the NHL would change slightly year to year. I understand there's a whole lot of economics involved and easier said than done, however, it's something that really lacked in EHM2007.

There are a lot of factors that go into the real world Salary cap. Geopolitical and economical factors, how many outdoors games are being played, how many and what markets are being sold out. How big of contracts are the individual leagues getting for TV rights?

I'm not an expert on algorithms. could this be done? possibly. But I think for the first few iterations of the game (assuming this is released yearly like FM) is to either have a base salary cap/floor and neglect inflation, or set a flat inflation of say, 5%.

• SI Staff

We don't model inflation even in FM, so I would not expect the financial model to get anywhere that complicated for EHM either. Fluctuating cap has similar issues as there are so many factors involved with regards to some things that cannot be modelled in the game, so this is not something we're likely to implement.

Like I said in the OP I understand there's a lot of economics involved, but it could be something as simple as the whole economic world goes up or down a few % each season, as in all expenses (except salaries of course) and all income would follow the same %. In FM there isn't really a need as the main football leagues do not have caps, whilst the main hockey league does. Not a deal breaker, but just a little something that would add to the immersion.

We don't model inflation even in FM, so I would not expect the financial model to get anywhere that complicated for EHM either. Fluctuating cap has similar issues as there are so many factors involved with regards to some things that cannot be modelled in the game, so this is not something we're likely to implement.