Changing Tactics with Shouts in Game

Hi Guys,

I'm just settling in for some Christmas Day Football Manager, and I thought I'd get some advice.

I'm just learning the game, and I'm trying to improve as I've never really been much cop at FM.

Anyway, I've started to adapt my tactics for each game more, particularly based around playing home and away.

I'm confused, though. Some people are telling me that you should adapt over the course of the game, whilst others are telling me that changes to the tactics will see me conceeding goals.

For instance, I was away at Millwall, playing as Carlisle, and I wasn't hopeful of a result. So I was playing less attacking then I would at home, trying to avoid leaving myself exposed at the back, with counter-attacking play so I could capitilise if an opportunity to break played up. Happily, Ian Harte played a pearl of a long ball which fell for my newly signed pacy striker, who stuck it home. Job done. Just before the break, the same striker got brought down in the box and we got another with a goal.

At this point, I set the team to "retain possession", so they would play safer passes so we could ride out the game, holding the ball and wasting a bit of time. We didn't need to risk things anymore, so I guessed this was the right move. However, by FT we'd lost 4-2.

Now in this situation, I have two questions. Firstly, was "Retaining Posession" the right move? We're not a great side, so really we probably can't sustain a short passing game and we'll give the ball away in a dangerous position if we keep playing short passes between one another. Am I right in thinking this contributed to my downfall? And what moves would you make to defend a lead agaisnt a stronger side?

Secondly, should I be changing tactics in game? What do you guys do? Is there a penalty for switching things mid-game?

The only one I've had success with is "Shoot on Sight" if the weather's bad, which usually makes the best of the poor conditions.