FM addiction almost killed me

bomjr

Hello everyone. This is my first time to ever particiate in the forums. I'm new to all this stuff really.

I'm 36 Married since 22 with a son who just turned 15 (thats what you get for not wearing protection) Work as an editor for a car magazine in Manila. Just started playing FM06 (or any other game in fact) 5 months ago. I must say, I'm pretty old to be playing games like these, but what do you expect when you have a teenager in the house :-)

Just would like to share a true story about me, and about my addiction with this game (which is probably the first ever computer game I've ever played) and almost ruined my family and got me killed. (I'm not boycotting FM just so you know)

It all began when my family would all snuggle up in the living room to watch football every saturday. I noticed my son would always complain about how teams should play, and my wife would just be busy feeding him with popcorn (I have a very close loving family of my own) So one day I decided to look for a football game that my son could actually relate to, and that his thoughts could acutally make a difference.

And so I found this game called FM06. Not knowing anything about VDO games, I got him one for his birthday. His happiness was cut short thought cuz the house only had a pentium2 windows ME. I didn't know anything about requirements until that day. So to keep him happy, I had to buy a whole new computer, just for him to be able to play that game. Grrrr.

After all the unexpected spending on a new pentium 4 windows XP (Don't know the difference really) my son was hooked right away. He would play 3 teams in one setting. Of course, home work first before playing. But he would play til 12AM which is very bad for a young teenager. He was so hooked to it, we had to make a time schedule when he could play and when not. And mind you, he plays til the last minute.