Level assesment?

Hello, I am new to Football Manager and I just installed the FM 15 Demo. I am wandering now if the limited overall level of a player is the same in the full game (made out of stars). So can anyone tell me about it? Or let me know of your way of assesing your players? Thank you.

If you want an overall rating for a player, you're best off playing something like FIFA. This isn't how it works in FM, because quite frankly that's not how it works in real life. That's why great players have flopped for big teams in real life, or lesser rated/unknown players have become key players. Because you can't just look at a player and see an overall number. FM gives you a representation of what each player's strengths and weaknesses are, and it's up to you as manager to determine whether those strengths and weaknesses will fit in with your style of play, your tactics, your other squad members etc.

If all you want to do is look at a player and see a number to immediately tell you whether he's good or bad then you're probably not suited to this type of game. I will tell you though, there's no better feeling than mastering this game, finding an unknown gem or nurturing a young player through your youth squad to become a first team superstar. If you put in the time and effort you get the rewards.