Snatching Defeat From The Jaws Of Victory

DaneBramage

SNATCHING DEFEAT FROM THE JAWS OF VICTORY

INTRO

This is my first time writing about a Football Manager game in quite some time, and I haven’t been actively posting on here at all either, so hopefully this’ll come back to me quickly. Please feel free to chip in with any constructive criticism, point out coding errors, anything important I’ve missed etc.

I’ve been lurking on this forum for a while, and it’s made me want to start a new game with more potential for country hopping. Previous games I’ve played have usually been in the top divisions and spending a long time at one club. I want a bit more variety with this though, and with a new laptop I decided it was time to start a game with more leagues activated.

I still play FM 2007, as this is the version I’ve always found more fun, and I’ve never really managed to get into any of the newer games since. 2D dots for life!

A quick note here – obviously with the game being five years old, we know all about the heroes of the game, the players you can sign cheaply early on and set up your team on the road to success for 15 years. I avoid signing them, and mostly use scouting to find new players instead. Though at the level of football I’m starting at here that shouldn’t really make a difference.

I’ve played through a season and a half already so I’ll put an overview of those years in these first couple of posts, after that I’ll probably go for a start of season, halfway through season, end of season update schedule with a bit more detail.

This is the league set up I’ve gone for, with a large database:

setupe.png

Apart from playing in all six countries there are no particular aims I have, just try and win something every now and then! Though with my luck that’s more a hope than an actual plan…

2006 OVERVIEW