Spanish TV Money

Okay playing a game of FM10 with my brother. Not online or anything just two users on same laptop.

I am Barcelona, he is Real Madrid. In the first season, I finished the league on 100 points he finished with 97. So obviously I won the league.

The start of the second season he recieved £140,187,017 in TV Revenue.

I only got £26,717,824.

But the interesting thing is that we both recieved around £60 million at the start of the first season.

Can anyone explain this?

Spanish clubs negotiate their own tv deals, I am surprised that there is such a difference in the amounts but it is well known that Real have a huge TV deal that I think is by far the biggest in Europe.

I have been playing Premier since 2 years only and I received each year around 35M of TV rights. To me it seems high enough and that allows you to have a great transfer budget compared to the Championship League where the transfer budget is usually around 2-3M only.

I think that's fair enough

Why do Real Madrid and Barcelona have higher revenues than any English club? The answer lies in the way they sell television rights to their domestic fixtures.

Real Madrid earn an average of 150m euros a year from TV rights

The Spanish system allows them to negotiate their own broadcasting deals. In many other countries the TV deals are negotiated by the league they play in, and the money is distributed according to an agreed formula.

As winners of the English Premier League, Manchester United received £52m from the distribution of TV rights in 2008/9.

Real Madrid - second in La Liga - earned more than double that amount from its broadcasting contract with Mediapro.

According to the sports unit at consultants Deloitte, both Real Madrid and Barcelona have deals with Mediapro until at least 2012/13 which will contribute broadcasting revenues of, on average, approximately 150m euros ($203m; £136m) each year.

Source: BBC News Website.