Staveley Miners Welfare - how far can we go?

ajcardall

Hi, all.

I've been spending a lot of my time in this subsection, and the quality and detail of the career updates, and the successes members have achieved, has been giving me a notion to have a go at chronicling my own efforts in FM2013. I'm currently 5 seasons into a long-term career with my (very) local side, Staveley Miners Welfare, and rather the restart (I've enjoyed a lot of success thus far!), I decided to merely use this new season as my starting point. However, I'll use the first post (not this one!) to briefly tell the story thus far, so you've got a feel for where I am and what I've done so far.

Before I start with the usual wikicopy club intro, I'd like to thank you for reading this, and feel free to leave any feedback (even criticism is welcome, where constructive ;) ) as this is my first attempt at such a thread, and while you can learn much from reading the stories of others, there is no substitute for your own experience!

Without further ado:

Club Introduction

SMW-Badge_zps779bf906.png

Staveley Miners Welfare F.C. is an English football club based in Staveley, Derbyshire. The club are currently members of the Northern Counties East League Premier Division and play at Inkersall Road.

The club was established as a Sunday league team in 1962, and initially played at Barrow Hill under the name Nags Head. They played friendly matches for three years, before joining the Mansfield League. In 1968 they joined the Chesterfield League. In 1989 the club started playing Saturday football in the Chesterfield and District Amateur League. In 1991 they moved up to the Sheffield and Hallamshire County Senior League, winning Division Three in their first season, and Division Two in their second.

In 1993 they joined the Supreme Division of the Central Midlands League. After finishing third in 1996–97 they were accepted into Division One of the Northern Counties East League.