Beginner's guide on tactics? Help a newbie out!

Ever since I started playing FM I've always used downloaded tactics. Very rarely, usually when the game came out an no tactics were available, did I use my own self-made tactics. The truth of the matter is that after a few years of playing the game I came to the, logical, conclusion that ready-made tactics make the game boring. These plug-and-play tactics are either TOTALLY unsuited for my team or they make my team invincible, so much so at times that after 2 seasons I've basically "beaten" the game.

Recently I started trying to employ my "own" tactics, by using tactic building guides, trying to make plays/tactics suited for my players, etc. but with little success. For every match I dominate with 4-0 I lose 2 or 3 with even worse scores against teams that totally outplay me.

My question is basically this: Is there a guide for beginners that guides me through the intricacies of making a tactic, reading plays, adapting my play to compensate for the inherent weaknesses of my player roles, etc.? I should mention that I'm not an expert in taking apart football matches and while I do have some knowledge of how the sport works (obviously!) I can't tell from watching an FM match why my players are so out of position in a glance, or why they're poor at creating CCCs, etc. So I'm looking for a guide to take it one step at a time, not to get right down into discussions of how to make a 800+ passes a game tactic while creating CCCs, by listing a bunch of things to do without much explanation as to why.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Okay, to be honest, I think what you are looking for is not really a beginners guide, it's more advanced or intermediate.