'Le Jeu Avant Tout' - Yesterday's Heroes, Today.

Gino

(Author's Notes: Thanks for taking the time to have a look at this, it's my first attempt at a CM4 story. I'm not sure how it'll go but we'll see. It's about a club I've been following for some years now, dating back to the time Burnley signed the mercurial winger Glen Little from the club. Little did I know that Burnley and Glentoran have a connection dating back well over a century. More on this can be read here. Again, thanks for reading, hope you enjoy!)

The Glens fans partied long and hard after last season’s historic season came to a close. Having won the Premier Division for the first time in four seasons, it was time again to turn their thoughts to the Champions’ League.

The club were already three goals down in their first round qualification game with Estonian side FC Flora Tallinn when I took over the reigns from departing manager Roy Coyle. Coyle had been at the helm at ‘The Oval’ for nearly ten seasons, and was arguably the club’s greatest ever manager.

Regardless, I gathered the troops together on my first day and told them just what I wanted from them, commitment, passion and goals. I knew there was little hope of splashing out huge transfer fees, even with European football. For starters, the real money didn’t arrive until you made the Group Stages, and secondly, the club was already losing money hand over fist, and was well in the red.

Northern Irish international striker Andy Smith, a player with four caps to his name, was attracting the attentions of several teams, in particularly League of Ireland side Derry City who made an offer of £55,000 and seventeen-year-old goalkeeper Marty Walker. Keen to keep hold of our talents, I reject the offer immediately; though its made clear by Chairman Stafford Reynolds that in light of the financial problems at the club, a more sizable offer may receive a different answer.

Wed 23.07.03

Glentoran Vs FC Flora Tallinn – The Oval.