Newbie looking for a good pre-season guide / tutorial

All,

Although I have played FM in the past; I am a newbie to recent incarnations of the game - it has been six or seven years since I attempt to tackle the game with any gusto - and have decided to attempt it with FM16. Ahead of the full release, I am familiarising myself with Beta version of the game & have decided to start with a League 2 [Luton Town] save. I always recall that a strong pre-season was critical to getting off on the right foot. Consequently, I have such trawled through the forum in order to find a decent detailed guide [for FM14 or FM15] from more experienced players as how to approach pre-season. I have though struggled to find anything.

Are there any detailed guides within the forum [or on wider sites] on how to approach pre-season?

Thanks in advance.

The most common thing is changing players' training to fitness and high load (if it's still in this year).

In the very first preseason I also fire most of my staff and replace them with better ones, send scouts everywhere and check whether there are good free agents available.

For the last 4 or 5 versions of FM I schedule a friendly for every 3 days to begin 3 days after returning to training from holiday. I pick my first eleven and my backups for each position, plus the best of the rest for the sub 12 spot. I always manage the friendlies, as soon as the condition of a player dips below 70% he gets subbed by his backup. I frequently rest the whole squad from training before the next friendly so that the condition can improve closer to 100% or sometimes start the backup players and have the first eleven on the bench. I save both team selections as FR 1 and FR 2 to make it easier to switch them before the match. By the time the season starts everyone is at 95-100% condition and 100% match fitness (now sharpness).

I am possibly missing out on some physical gains somewhere, but I have not noticed them.