Network Game. Help please

When you turn the Hamachi program on, it lies to the computer by making your ip the same as the ip of the person you are playing with. The hamachi program wont work for mac thus I cant play a network game

So when you play a network game you just enter the ip of the person who makes the league and play?
That's what you do yes,give the IP to your friend,and on his start screen he clicks "network" then enters your IP address.If your using routers though then that's a whole different ball game as ports will possibly need forwarding.

that must be the problem because I get my internet from a router
Ah well i have no knowledge of routers and port forwarding i'm afraid,there is a site that can help you maybe forward the ports.

http://portforward.com/

It lists all the router makes and models,and a step by step guide on how to forward the ports in question,it's all double dutch to me tbh,i use my old ADSL to connect to network games because i'm useless with routers.

goto the help thread in the FMonline section and have aa good read about setting up a network game and if you try everything suggested and still can`t get it to work then make a post in the help thread with what problem you`ve got and someone will give you advice to fix it

You can play a network game without Himachi, you've just got to apply some settings so you can play each other over the internet.

The 'Host' as I understand it will have to find out what there WAN or otherwise is know is their Internet IP address. Just visit www.whatismyip.org to find this out it will be a string of numbers which are seperated by dots. Like so xx.xx.xx.xx This IP address these numbers are what the host will pass this onto their mate or whoever wants to join there game.

In the game go to preferences and choose Network then tick the box to run as server.