Dancing with Wolves or was it bears? We Were Once Great Challenge 2006

axeman

If you thought taking a vacation in Iceland was a good idea, forget it. I should know, I was forced to live on the bloomin' iceberg for most of my youth. A pint of beer wasn't allowed to be sold anywhere until 1989, when the price of the said pint would be nailed shut at £5 or more. A 5 minute ride in a taxi would set you back around £10, a full trolley of food would cost around £150 and the prices of clothing would be even more extortionate. The people were nice enough, when they could be arsed to look out of their wallets. I was 37 years old when the story began and I wasn't expecting to experience the things that were about to happen.

I had been working with disabled people for almost 2 years when, I decided that I needed a change in my life, so I decided to flog my CV all over the place. I sent out so many copies that I couldn't keep track of where I'd sent them. I remembered that I'd sent out applications to all sorts of jobs. Football coaching in at least 6 countries, despite having no qualifications other than having played football management simulation games for ages; airline piloting, with a similar lack of qualifications; police work and many other odd jobs. I even applied to become a bouncer at Buckingham Palace, I remembered, though I didn't harbour any real expectations of getting that one. Especially when I found out that it certainly wasn't a pub.