Where do you go to check the definition of a certain XML element—as in what it does, and what attributes it expects or accepts?

FLLOG123

As a premise, I'm a novice to skinning but I've always been curious about the topic and the whole community surrounding it, and I really wanted to try my hands at it at least once.

And believe me, I get it when people say it's mostly a matter of trial and error. This is how we all learn, after all. So in principle I have nothing against changing a few things in the code, seeing what effects it has, and thus inferring its meaning. For example, at first I was confused about some of the layout numbers (e.g. layout="-1,-2"), but after a couple attempts I figured out that's how you determine the spatial proportions of some elements.

However, things changed when I came across the nationality segment, which is usually displayed as flag + demonym in a player's profile page. Now, I wanted to try and remove the flag, and I focused on this one aspect here by pure chance: it's just one thing that I wanted to try in order to see how easy it would be. And... well, I can't say it was a pleasant experience. I explored the whole code, every possible related file (including nation properties), I even extracted the whole classes file to see if nation_button was somehow defined there so that it orders the game to display a flag... but I couldn't find anything.

Then, when I had almost given up hope, I decided to at least look it up online; that's when I found a random thread from five years ago where they suggest that I should add this:

icon_enabled="false"

And this, incredibly, works.

Now... how am I supposed to know that? That attribute is not part of the original code of the default skin (altering the format attribute doesn't remove the flag, by the way):

<record id="widget_info" class="nation_button" auto_size="vertical" format="[%nation#1-nationality]" />