The FM17 Journeyman....

chestermike

This first post will serve as a brief introduction into my save and what's it's all about.

I am a massive Chester FC fan, and even living in exile 140 miles away I am still a season ticket holder, and I get to 10+ away games a season too. I'm telling you this because most of my FM life involves winning everything with Chester FC first, and only moving on to other projects when this has been done. So this is new for me.....not starting with Chester......where should I go and what should I do?

I've read and enjoyed a lot of careers and stories, the most fun to me seems to be a journeyman game. I usually stay at the team I start with so I have very little experience swapping teams as I go, so this also introduces a new challenge for me......can I take on a team in trouble mid way through a season and be successful?

I set up my game with every single league and division in Europe loaded up, medium database, and give myself no badges and Sunday league experience. Start from the bottom, finish at the top.

After applying for every single job out there, most teams tell me where to go (fair enough), but I do get 3 interviews. Cardiff met uni offer me the job, but the majority of people start with them so I decline. Then an Icelandic bottom teir team offer me a job, It's an amateur club so I put it on hold for a week, and a couple more interviews come along. Thinking I would have to take the job in Iceland that I didn't overly fancy, Fana of the Norwegian 2nd division (3rd teir) come in, and I accept the job half way through their domestic campaign and with the team in big trouble......