Starting somewhere - Lowestoft

OhBeep

I'll have the shirt of your back

You have to start somewhere, so I’m told. After a not too glittering footballing “career” (if you could call it that) in the Sunday leagues, I wanted something more. The desire to be in and around the football world is massive. The Sunday Leagues can offer a place to start, but there had to be something more. Maybe the job I'd heard about at Lowestoft could be it?

When I submitted my CV I honestly didn’t think they’d even read beyond the first couple of lines. Who am I to them, was my thinking. They’ve been around since 1884, I’ve been around since 1974. This is a semi-professional outfit and I was a pub team manager. They have links with Norwich City, I had links with the local pub landlord. You get the point, I hope. For some they may not seem a massive team, but for me they may as well have been Man Utd.

Okay, so I have my National C Licence, so I had at least some proof that I wasn’t just some village idiot who with a copy of Football Manager.

The interview with Gary Keyzer didn’t exactly go well. I turned up late - I’m from Nottingham, Lowestoft may as well have been on a different continent as far as my sense of direction goes. Once I got in to his office, I immediately tripped up and managed to grab his shirt. I literally took the shirt off his back. Once that excitement was over and Gary had changed in to a replica team shirt, I promptly sat down and managed to let out a very loud fart. As I was beginning to wish the ground would swallow me whole, Gary burst out laughing. The kind of big, joyous laugh that is infectious. So, I too started laughing. His secretary popped his head around the door to see if we were okay, within seconds he was laughing too - even though he didn’t know why.