Defending: Tackling, marking and conceding since the invention of goals

Intro:

I do not claim to be a defensive mastermind, nor am I a «special one». Still the defending is as important as anything when setting up the tactic, and can prove deciding in the long run of the season. Mainly I'm looking to play sexy attacking football, but this also involves the sexy sexy defending.

This thread will solely be based around how I set up my defending strategy. I am looking to get more approaches, and hopefully it will get a good discussion about good/bad in our strategies.

All pictures shown below is from 2. April, 2022, and is 30 games into the La Liga.

Formation:

tacticr.th.jpg

4-2-3-1

I've been using the template of this formation for 10 years now in my current Malaga-save. In the starting years I had a more cautious approach towards matches, now I'm a league contender and champions league holder, the tactic is much more attacking, as now I'm looking to control every match.

Throughout the years, the team have become much more a playing side, which means that instead of just lashing the ball forward from defence to the wingers, they're now looking for the simple pass instead. Also most of my players have been playing with the same tactic in the youth side, before embarking on the senior level, which is bound to help on the system. Some since early teenagers.

Roles: