[FM2012]You WILL win everything with kids

PJHoutman88

My name is Petter Lundgren, I am a football coach from Sweden. I was born in Stockholm, on the 12th of August 1978, to a Swedish father, Johan, and a half-Swedish, half-Dutch mother, Dana. My father, a former footballer with Hammarby, raised me to love football, and I grew up watching a blooming Swedish generation of footballers. I was 13 when the European Championships were hosted in my country, with us reaching the semi-finals. I was there, at Råsunda, when Germany beat us 3 - 2 in a fantastic atmosphere. The seeds of a football addiction were forever planted in my head. Two years later, Sweden finished third at the world cup, with such players as Tomas Brolin, Henrik Larsson and Thomas Ravelli.

As I became an adult, I combined a Dutch language study with football coaching programs as well as playing for the Gröndals IK (my local team) reserves. In 2000, when I turned 22, I went for an internship at SC Heerenveen, in the Netherlands. With my excellent grasp of languages, and the already large Scandinavian contingent of players there, I was hired for a year to help new players settle in the country and to help them learn Dutch. It was there that I met Foppe de Haan, a great manager in his own right, responsible for helping a provincial club become a Dutch sub-top side.

Now, it's 2011. I've worked at SC Heerenveen for many years. During my first year, I performed my duties well, but I wasn't truly happy. I saw so much football played around me, that I wanted to be a part of it. I wanted to be involved. And so, when my year was almost up, I applied for a job as the under 15's manager. My Dutch, by now, was indistinguishable from that of a native speaker, and the coaching credentials were all there. All the players I worked with liked me, mr. De Haan liked me - I got the job.