[FM 15] A journey through South America

BoomBap

Hi, guys. I’m new here and this is my first time writing about my adventures in FM. I decided to start a career in South America. I’ll try to give a little bit of detail of the region as I develop the story, with music and description of cities, clubs etc. I chose the name of José Arcádio Buendía, a character of the famous novel “100 years of solitude”, by Gabriel García Márquez, as I always thought that he would be a remarkable manager. As so, I started in Colombia, Gabo's patria, taking over at Valledupar, a relatively young club in the Primera B, the second tier in the local football.

The place: Valledupar is a city in northeastern Colombia, near the frontier with Venezuela and relatively close to beach-ladden cities of Barranquilla and Cartagena. Its fame is derived from music, as it is home of the vallenato, a popular genre in the country. Football is not so successful: our club was founded in 2004 and never reached the Primera A.

Colombia’s season is a long one: it’s divided in Apertura and Clausura tournaments (each one in a semester). The format is the same: teams play each other in 18 matches, then the first eight qualify for the second phase, where they are split in two groups of four. They play each other twice, then the best in each group advance to the two-legged final. The winners of Apertura and Clausura play the final playoff, that awards a place in Primera A.

2015: Toquemen el Bombo

I thought the squad would be worse. We had a few decent players, specially in defense. To add more power upfront, my scout found a few veterans, who I happily signed. One of them, midfielder El Bombo, was crucial and went on to score and assist our way through the Apertura.

We started above the expectations, but lost our form in the final end of the Apertura. We managed to qualify in 7th to the group phase, but didn’t manage a single win, finishing 2nd. Still it was a nice start of season.