Going beyond "highlighted key attributes for role"

Back in the day I was a novice FM player, being overwhelmed with the game, I used external tools like FMRTE and FM Scout to determine player's current ability. While CA is naturally a good indication of how good a player is, I soon learnt that it is not be all and end all, that attribute distribution is very important, and that a player with significantly lower CA and a good attribute distribution for a certain role can perform much better than a player with high CA but a flawed distribution.

The first time I noticed that was when I found a five star potential CD with 1 Balance. Yeah, that didn't work out.

So overtime I found that if I want my inside forward to dribble, agility and balance is equally - if not more - important as dribbling, technique, acceleration, or flair. If I want my target man to score headers, I must not overlook Bravery or Anticipation. Etc, etc, you get the idea.

Having in mind that most of the time I manage clubs with limited transfer funds, my goal is to determine which attributes could be sacrificed, and which attributes are essential for a certain role.

One approach I often see here and on Twitter is building a "club DNA". For example, people look for players with high Determination, Work Rate, Teamwork, etc. While I quite admire that approach, I think it is more suited to clubs that can bring in good "universalist" type players - but I might be wrong there. However, my vision of team building in a smaller club is a bit more precise. While in this update Determination is so overreaching that it cannot be overlooked, I would be willing to sacrifice TW or WR in certain positions.