Squad size or developed-in-country (In-game editor)

Aeon

I was an avid football manager player. I played every season from CM 97/98 until FM 2008. The reason for the stop that year is that there was a major change in the Norwegian football league, allowing before unlimited players from EU, but only max 2 people from outside EU. That made me able to build a squad the way I wanted, not have to think about how many are developed in Norway.

But the "new" rule was only 9 people from outside Norway is allowed. Don't really matter if they are Swedish or Brazilian. Developed outside Norway is only 9 player. You need 16 players that have spent 3 years before they turn 21 in Norway. And the Squad size is only 25
image.png

This is a real problem. And I can say it is the ONLY reason I stopped buying and playing Football manager from 2008. For me the fun part of Football manager is buying and selling players. And I tend to grow tired of players if they spent too long time in a club. I like buying 8-10 players a year and sell equal. Therefore it is very rare to see a player spend 3 years in my club before I can start using them and even more rare to not sell them.

Also because of that rule I need to buy them very young (17-18) and not being able to use them before they turn 21 and get the "national developed" status.

This year I heard about a 2018 feature (in-game editor) and I thought I could finally bypass that problem by editing their national developed status to Norway. Only it wont work. I can't change their history. I can change their national status, but not their developed status. The only important factor for me
image.png

I also thought I could perhaps change the rules in the Norwegian league from a Squad size of 25 to unlimited (or just higher- 50 perhaps). So I don't have to bother with; you are out and you are in -situations. But I can't find a way to do that, neither in pre or in-game editor.
image.png