Player movement (and how to influence it with the TC)

I recently started playing FM again and as such started creating my own set of tactics again. My style of giving instructions is more focused on what players do when they don't have the ball than what they do with the ball (I believe a player should always do what he feels he can do best and use the mentality slider to move him into more risky plays or more conservative play). Because of this style I'm more focused on my player movement (primarily off the ball but on the ball as well). I haven't done a great deal of experimentation and I find the wording of the TC quite vague most of the time so I struggle with translating how I want my players to move into TC instructions.

Basically my question is how do the TC movement instructions translate into on and off the ball movement in the match engine?

My current understanding is as follows:

Mentality: Higher mentality makes players take up more advanced positions off the ball when team is in possession and track back less far when not in possession. On the ball the player will take more risks and is more focused on getting himself or a teammate in a scoring position and less focused on keeping possession.

Creative freedom: A higher creative freedom gives the player more freedom to ignore instructions. As such his movement will become more varied as he does as he pleases (or less if he is not a player who likes to get out of position due to lack of flair or maybe off the ball skills).

Closing down: A higher closing down will see players get dragged out of position as they close down opponents higher up the pitch or track back further when closing down opponents who have advanced passed them (like an AML closing down a RB). I don't know of any influence when my own team is in possession apart from players still out of position in the transfer fase of play.