A Manager's Tale (FM 14)

Tom Ashley

Before I begin my story, I'd like to take a few moments to introduce myself.

Compared to many of you, I am a Football Manager novice.  I'm American, and I began playing FM in 2012, soon after I discovered the joys of following English football.  Since then, with every passing year, I find myself paying less attention to the NFL and more to the Premier League.  I recently started following other European leagues, too.  I'm married, with a son and a daughter, and all four of us have discovered a common interest in the beautiful game.

I'm still playing FM 14.  I'll eventually buy a new version of the game, but I'm still enjoying this one for now.  I figure I still have enough to learn about the sport itself to keep myself occupied, without having to also learn the intricacies of a new game, too.  

I first discovered this forum when I was searching for some tactical advice, and I confess to being overwhelmed by the knowledge of some of the regular posters here.  I felt like a Grade 7 student who stumbled into a graduate seminar.  I decided I'd come back once I'd learned a bit more on my own.  

Upon my return, about six months ago, I found myself in this portion of the forum.  I began reading a few of the stories, and that's when I decided I'd give it a try myself.  

This is my first attempt at something like this, although I've always enjoyed putting words together.  My story won't be anything fancy.   For now, I'll stick to describing what's happening on and around the pitch, and if I find myself with the urge to flesh a few of the characters out more fully, I'll give it a go.  

I hope at least a few of you will take the time to read it.  Any suggestions or feedback you might offer would be received gratefully.  

Thanks for reading, and I'll be back tomorrow with the first chapter of my tale.

TA