Kublai conquers the world (again...sort of)

Baby BooBoo

As an ex-former French international, I have always wanted to manage a side and win lots of European trophies. Of course, it helps that my parents rather presciently named me Kublai Khan, which has never failed to remind me of my manifest destiny. That, or they were a bunch of parsley-chewing Provencal hippies who liked smoking...well, things that definitely weren't parsley.

Ambitious as ever, I took my first job at the small Greek club Tyrnavos, thinking it wouldn't be long before I started playing against the big boys in the Champions Cup. Well, it took me a few years, but I finally managed to get there by finishing third in the Greek Superleague. Eeerrr, I may or may not have started to gain a reputation for, shall we say, skating close to the edge financially as a result. I thought salvation was at hand when we got taken over, but that was before my accountant friend pointed out that we now had a club debt 4 times the actual value of our club. It didn't sound good, even to a devil-may-care sword-in-hand erstwhile world conqueror like me. The straw that broke the steppe pony's back was finding out that despite qualification for the Euro Champion's, next year's transfer and wage budget was going to be EXACTLY the same as this year's - a measly 70,000 Euro. And they wanted me to sell players. Oh. Ah, comrades, what other jobs have we got going around here ?.....