Player Tactical Settings Question.

I have been playing around with the tactics for a while now and somehow players do not play the way I want them to play.

I have read several threads on this forum but could not find the information I am looking for, so I created this thread hoping to get the information I am looking for.

The questions might sound dumb or silly, but please keep in mind that I am a soccer noob (even better irl I don't like soccer that much, yet I love FM).

The question is: what does the setting let the player do on the pitch.

Unclear to me are these:

Metality: defensive - normal - attacking

Creative freedom: little - normal - much

Passing style: short - mixed - direct - long

Closing down: own area - own half - whole pitch

---With these above its totaly unclear to me what the influence is on the pitch with that specific player---

Tackling: easy - normal - hard

Run from deep: rarely - sometimes - often

Run with ball: rarely - sometimes - often

Long shots: rarely - sometimes - often

Through balls: rarely - sometimes - often

Cross ball: rarely - sometimes - often

---These above are pretty straight forward, yet when I look at my striker for example the "run from deep" says rarely wich means to me "run from deep" would mean for a striker "run back to deep"---

Marking: zonal - man

Tight marking: yes - no

---To me these 2 are pure defensive settings, yet when I look at my AMC for example it says "marking: man" and "tight marking: yes"---

I have tried to make several tactics and somehow it never works as I want it to and that makes me think that I have conflicting settings in my tactic but can not fix the conflict as I do not understand correctly what setting does what.

Please keep in mind that I am a newbie to this.

Thanx for helping when you do :D