Helplessly stuck and conceding tons of goals

Firstly, read the stickies. I'd go in this order:

1: How to Play FM

2: Tricking the Wizard

3: Pairs and Combinations

4: Building a Tactic from the Beginning

That will take you from the basics to a sophisticated understanding of the tactics module.

Hey man, I’m no expert but I can see you need help and there are a few things I have noticed from your screenshots.

You say you are leaking goals and this may be because the formation you are playing has no man ahead of the centre backs, to make things worse you have 2 players in the central midfield positions who are not on a defend duty.

I find with the 4-2-3-1 formation both central midfielders need to be able to complete some of the water carrying especially against the better teams due to the space they have behind them, so maybe a DLP support and a cm Defend would plug that gap between your defence and midfielder.

If you watch in game, your tactical instructions are control meaning you are playing a fairly high line but with a huge gap between your midfield and defence leaves space for any opposition amc to take advantage. Imagine leaving a man in the middle of the pitch giving him all the time to pick out balls over the top of your high line where the likes of Mertesacker aren’t going to catch up

I’m also confused by your instructions for Debuchy, Leaving a full back on a defend duty means he won’t get forward, so Sanchez on the wing has nobody even attempting to support him.

I completely understand you wanting to have one more adventuress full back, and one who will be slightly more responsible but in that case I would try an attack duty one side and one at least on support on the other.