Was this the right call?

I had a situation today that I've never seen before and was just wondering if the game got it right.

Basically, one of my players was taking a free kick and the ball went into the net, for a goal I assumed. However, there was a foul in the box during the kick and a penalty kick was awarded instead. Which was missed, of course.

It hardly seems fair that I was denied a clear goal for a penalty chance, but I want to know what would happen in a real match if this occurred.

To my way of thinking, the Ref should have played advantage and allowed the goal to stand from the free kick. So, I'd say he got it wrong.

Perhaps unless, the foul in the box , was a red card offence? But even still, the goal should have stood.

I'm no rule expert but common sense leads me to think the game it wrong.

The point of calling a penalty is for a foul preventing a clear scoring chance. So if a foul was committed but a goal was scored then I can't imagine why the rules would not allow a clear goal and give a PK.

Especially when you consider that the foul was obviously in the air when the foul was committed and, I'm assuming, that no one else played the ball. But regardless it is a clear instance of advantage, you don't take a good goal away to give a PK, I can't imagine FIFA rules fail like that.

So again, the game code is just wrong. I would post this in the ME bug board to make sure it's clear to SI.

I'm no rule expert but common sense leads me to think the game it wrong.

The point of calling a penalty is for a foul preventing a clear scoring chance. So if a foul was committed but a goal was scored then I can't imagine why the rules would not allow a clear goal and give a PK.