Keeping a lead

I'm a bit of a newbie to the wonderful world of FM09 so I thought I'd pick some more experienced brains for ideas.

This might sound strange, but how do you handle the precarious situation of being ahead?I'm currently playing as Arsenal, with a fairly attacking-oriented lineup that usually commands possession. However, I'm finding a repeat pattern where I dominate the game early but then find it taken to the wire as the other team comes back. I've gone from 2-0 up to 2-2 (against a mediocre Fulham team), and almost lost a four-goal lead in one game against Liverpool.

I've tried the whole notion that if what I'm doing is working so well, I should stick with it - but I find myself scrabbling for clearances in the last 20 minutes. I've tried dropping everyone back, shorter passing, slower tempos, time wasting - the same thing seems to happen.

Any tips, ideas, strategies?

Go to the tactics forum their you will find plenty of answers

But be careful of your half time speech, when you deploy time wasting tactics etc. (don't drop everyone to defend that's an invitation for the other side to go all out attack)

I've tried the whole notion that if what I'm doing is working so well, I should stick with it - but I find myself scrabbling for clearances in the last 20 minutes. I've tried dropping everyone back, shorter passing, slower tempos, time wasting - the same thing seems to happen.

Any tips, ideas, strategies?