Digsy's 4-1-2-1-2 Set

This is a brief introduction to the tactic I have been working on for FM 2009.

I'll upload the tactic and screenies another day, my broadband is dying at the moment and loading a standard web page is a painful process...

A bit of background first, I quit FM 08 as I became really frustrated with the match engine, I was about to do the same with FM 2009, I'm a big fan of plug and play tactics because I don't want to take this game too seriously. However, from the cusp of quitting I decided I'd make a concerted effort to do well off my own back.

I must stress it's very early days for me, I've read through the Tactic's bible which is full of essential advice. I'm playing as Rangers in the SPL, which in itself isn't a massive challenge. So where am I now? just played my 5th game in the group stage of the Champion's League, beating Inter 2-1 at Ibrox with a team a solid but average players.

Sitting second in the SPL, unbeaten but I have drawn too many games, a trend which has lessened as I get used to the match engine. I am out of the League Cup, however, if I had played that game with the extra experience I have gained since I believe I would have won. (edit - I won the league and cup double)

I've only lost two games so far this season, away to Inter and away to the Dons in the League Cup.

I play a 4-1-2-1-2 with no wide midfield players and use a set of three tactics, home and away variants and one which is in the middle, so I play that against team like Inter when I'm at home or away against the game's minnows. I've applied the role theory mentallity and spent some time setting up individual instructions, little tweaks now and then and I am becoming a force to be reckoned with.