Struggling AS Roma

I've played fm for nearly 12 years now but I have to say that the latest iterations and particularly this years version have me hanging in the ropes. I've had only very poor results so far and I've left the game from time to time in frustration (though I always come back for it, heck, it's still the best game in the world, right?). Admittedly, I'm not the best tactician out there and since I've been building my own home for the last three years now I rarely had the time to micromanage the game. I played only when I had some spare time and thus I played it plug-and-play-style, but that left me nowhere (and wishing I'd spent my spare time otherwise). But now I've decided to come back to it and at least try to master one game in this edition, before we all get to play FM17. But, and this is a first timer, I've decided to ask you people, as probably the 1487th guy in a row (yeah, a lot of you some to be struggling with fm these days), for help. But, to keep it interesting for everyone, I will try to be as detailed as possible and explain my (mis)goings.

For years now, I've always played with AS Roma. I just love everything about them. More so the image in my head then the real Roma thesedays, but when I grew up, it were the days heydays of Cafú, Tommasi, Candela, Totti, Montella and later Batistuta. But, as a Belgian, seeing two countrymen play for them this season (not in fm16 though...) is a bonus. Seeing as I'm only interested in managing them, not getting fired and going from glory to glory, season after season, is quite a must. It also let's me put out some long-term visions. Since I've got an interesting youth academy, among the best in Italy, squad building with own youths, is a definite. Here's a screen of one of my most promising ones, Daniele Verde:

Daniele Verde_ Overview Profile.png