Managerial disloyalty and contractual dishonour - case in point.

A curious and amusing situation has just occurred in my game, a theatrical travesty in which I happened to assume the role of the villain.

I had been manager of Sevilla, a club that, by the current year of 2019, was stagnating in its own mediocrity, if not rapidly descending into obscurity.. Riddled with escalating debt, burdened with a squad of ageing, overpaid has-beens, the future for the Andalusian outfit was indeed bleak. Of course, being the beneficiaries of the services of such a pre-eminent manager as myself, whose glittering distinctions included two Serie A titles and a World Cup trophy amongst other things, was of great boon and encouragement to the Sevilla board, but they nevertheless realised that I was a great manager, not a miracle worker, and that I could not instantaneously cure the club of its ailments. Hence, they set a rather pragmatic and undemanding target for the season: to secure a respectable position in the league. And after a sporadic and inconsistent start to the season, the club seemed to be on its way to achieving its goals; 10 games into the season, the club was occupying 11th position, with 2-3 games in hand over its immediate competitors. A few victories and a draw could easily propel the Sevilla into 8th spot.