Why do I suck? Formation, Discipline or Language?

So I am new to the game and new to soccer. The extend of my knowledge is that if my team kicks the ball into the other teams net more than they into ours we win.

Somehow last season as Arsenal I won a bunch of games and ended up second in the premier league.

In the off-season I sold 4-5 players and brought in 4-5 better ones (my definition of better is my ast manager tells me they players I bought have more stars - in most cases I went from 2.5 star guys to 3.5 or 4 star guys)

Now mid way through my second season I am in 9th place and about to get fired.

a few things to consider:

* I started out incredibly hot winning my first 10 games, many by 3 or 4 goals.

* Since then I am a mess. getting crushed by the good teams and either drawing or barely squeaking out wins against the bad teams.

* I have also received word that my players are upset with my lack of discipline (although I just read this morning about warnings of being carded, so I need to work on that)

* Previously I had been playing a 4-4-2, but because of the players I acquired in order to get my best on the field I need to play a 3-5-2. The primary reason being I acquired a "world class" player in Danielle De Rossi that I thought I was going to play as Center Defender not realizing he was a Defensive Midfielder and not all knowing the difference other than it changes my formation.

* De Rossi and a couple of other players I acquired don't speak English and are struggling to fit in because of the language barrier.

So my question is do I suck now because:

* that is the way it goes - good one year, bad the next is the natural order of things?

* the 3-5-2 is not as good a formation as the 4-4-2

* the lack of discipline

* the language barrier is effecting my teams ability to play together

* the players I got are not really better, just better according to my scouts