Defensive Tactics Help/Advice

I've been going thru the search feature, and can't find any tips to help me with this, so, please refrain from telling me to check the search engine. My question is for FM2010, and it's an issue i've been having with my defenders.

I've been using FM since 2006, and consider myself a relatively advanced user, which is what makes this all the more frustrating. Basically, I want to stop my CD's from chasing opponents and leaving the area. All too often in games, if they are being approached by a dribbling opponent, they will step up to challenge them, which on its own is fine. Unfortunately, they tend to go too far upfield, or any direction actually, allowing the CF or ST to slip behind them on a run, and viola, easy goal for the opposition.

I've tried to make them mark zone, no creative freedom, not closing down, etc, etc, and still, they chase the ball carrier, leave their area and constantly allow attackers to slip behind them. Any advice?

W

I\'ve been going thru the search feature, and can\'t find any tips to help me with this, so, please refrain from telling me to check the search engine. My question is for FM2010, and it\'s an issue i\'ve been having with my defenders.

I\'ve been using FM since 2006, and consider myself a relatively advanced user, which is what makes this all the more frustrating. Basically, I want to stop my CD\'s from chasing opponents and leaving the area. All too often in games, if they are being approached by a dribbling opponent, they will step up to challenge them, which on its own is fine. Unfortunately, they tend to go too far upfield, or any direction actually, allowing the CF or ST to slip behind them on a run, and viola, easy goal for the opposition.

I\'ve tried to make them mark zone, no creative freedom, not closing down, etc, etc, and still, they chase the ball carrier, leave their area and constantly allow attackers to slip behind them. Any advice?

W