Having some trouble with Tactics > Instructions > Player Instructions

Hi, I'm very new to FM and as the threads name suggests, I'm having some trouble with individual player instructions.

This is most notable during set pieces. For example, I always like to keep a midfielder outside the penalty box during corner kicks so he can attempt a long range shot.

When I first decided to use this strategy, it worked well, the chosen player did indeed stay outside the area, and ended up scoring the occasional goal.

I've changed no settings or the like, but now the player will not stay outside the area and will always join the rest of his teammates inside the box, where he is very ineffective.

By all rights, he should stay out, seeing as that's what I've got him set to do, but my instruction is ignored and as I said, he doesn't do as told. I've tried changing mentality and other tactics and the like, but to no avail.

I am lost as to why this is happening, and would appreciate any light anyone can shed on this.

Thanks

Hi, I'm very new to FM and as the threads name suggests, I'm having some trouble with individual player instructions.

This is most notable during set pieces. For example, I always like to keep a midfielder outside the penalty box during corner kicks so he can attempt a long range shot.

When I first decided to use this strategy, it worked well, the chosen player did indeed stay outside the area, and ended up scoring the occasional goal.

I've changed no settings or the like, but now the player will not stay outside the area and will always join the rest of his teammates inside the box, where he is very ineffective.

By all rights, he should stay out, seeing as that's what I've got him set to do, but my instruction is ignored and as I said, he doesn't do as told. I've tried changing mentality and other tactics and the like, but to no avail.

I am lost as to why this is happening, and would appreciate any light anyone can shed on this.

Thanks