Low Block- 442 Diamond

So, I'm quite new to FM, bought it after the free week and started a save with Ipswich recently. I wanted to play using a Simeone or Dyche style 4-4-2 low block in cup games against bigger teams (can't really use it in League One as they're one of the favourites for promotion), but Ipswich doesn't really have any good and natural wide midfielders, particularly on the left side, so I've decided to go with a 4-4-2 Diamond formation. It worked wonders against weaker L1 teams, normally going for the default gegenpress or a form of fluid counter-attack, but it was quite leaky in defence. I figured out I needed to be much more defensively solid against stronger teams. I tried to build a tactic based on an old guide about how to build a defensive diamond (it was from FM14 I believe), and this cluster was the end result:

Long story short, it's even leakier at the back, just got beaten 4-1 by Fulham in the EFL Cup and 2-0 by Oxford in the league, and now I'm looking here for a way to build a low and solid diamond. Thanks in advance

taktík1.png

1 hour ago, Fánabrauð said:

Long story short, it's even leakier at the back, just got beaten 4-1 by Fulham in the EFL Cup and 2-0 by Oxford in the league, and now I'm looking here for a way to build a low and solid diamond

First off, a low block alone does not automatically make you defensively solid. Yes, with the lower Line of engagement you do have a low block nominally. But that's just one of many elements that constitute a tactic, including its defensive aspect.