Advice please

I have been playing FM for a long time. I can't remember exactly when I started playing but it was the CM days with no 2d pitch. I've never been tactically astute as perhaps I should be after many years in playing the game...but I've never really asked for help either. Maybe the two are linked :D .

I normally play with my beloved Birmingham City which can be fun and involving but at the same time I feel emotional attachment perhaps gets in the way with player choice, tactics, turning down job offers etc.

The reason for the post is I have recently been feeling slightly bored of FM from playing the usual gengenpress pre-set which yes isn't perfect but at the same time seems to do A job for most teams. I wasn't bored of winning because let me assure you that was not happening anywhere near enough to get boring. So I have moved away from managing the team I support in order to free myself up from the above and have a bit more fun with the game.

Ever since I have been old enough to watch and understand football I have been obsessed with italian football. The likes of Ancelotti's Milan diamond, De Rossi, Gattuso and especially the graceful Andrea Pirlo. I know his role and how it is interpreted in the game as a regista.

So I decided if I wasn't going to manage my team any more, then I'd like to at least try to create a system which revolves around my favourite player Pirlo. Now I know some teams I will manager will not have a player that is good enough for the role or sometimes the system might hold me back but I want to enjoy watching the game and enjoy the regista (attempting to) pull the strings.

The problem I seem to be getting most is teams are dominating possession against me and seem to be pinning me in my own box regardless of LOE & DL. Now I could always try and set up a counter attacking system to take advantage of this but its not what I'm looking for.